Article ID: 2047, created on Jul 24, 2007, last review on May 6, 2014

  • Applies to:
  • Odin Business Automation Standard 3.3


Problems with logging in to customer Control Panel for single account.
There are no Login button on account properties.


In earlier PBA-S versions a registered person may be associated with a number of accounts and given a number of user roles within these accounts. Starting from PBA-S 3.3 such assignment is not possible: a number of users can be registered for a single account, but a person can have roles in one account only.

PBA-S 3.3 upgrade installation does not affect the users assignment existed before. In other words, users assigned to several accounts stay as they were, but till only the moment of time when you try to edit such a user profile. After upgrading to PBA-S 3.3 it becomes impossible to associate any person with more than one account.


Upgrade installation does not affect the existed users assignment, but (which is important) only until you edit these users properties. Thus, the users assignment will actually become misconfigured after upgrade installation.
As soon as you open a user properties and then click Save, all the accounts assignment is released and only one account stays. This may cause problems with logging in to customer Control Panel.
Thus, you MUST do the following after upgrade:

  1. Find out what accounts are to be fixed. To this effect, we offer the script that allows finding the users that have roles more than in one account and finding accounts that have no users assigned. The script is to be ran without any keys, just execute the following command at your Management node: /usr/sbin/
    If no users with roles in several accounts were found and there are no accounts without users assigned, the script output will look as follows: All account-person relations are correct
    In case users with roles in several accounts or accounts without users assigned exist, the output will look like:
    Persons, who have more than one account assigned:
    Person #10 ( has 2 accounts assigned
    Account # 12 John Smith
    Account # 15 Robert Smith
    Person #12 ( has 3 accounts assigned
    Account # 25 Mary Jones
    Account # 32 Mike N
    Account # 34 Helen S
    Accounts w/o person assigned:
    Account #3 Reseller Customer

    Save the persons' IDs (the numbers after hashes in the script output), log in to the Provider Control Center and proceed with the second part of the task, i.e., fixing accounts.
  2. Fix accounts. Two solutions are possible. You can use one or another depending on your needs; The solutions are:
    • If a customer wants to save all his/her accounts. In Provider Control Center go to Configuration Director > Security Manager > All Users. One-by-one, fix all users. We explain what to do using the example. Let's assume that user with ID 10 has 2 accounts assigned:
      a Select the user.
      b At the user properties screen that appears, select the Accounts tab. You can see all the accounts and roles the customer has in them.
      c Clear the roles assignment in all accounts except for the one. To this effect, click Edit, select all roles at the User roles frame and move them into the Available roles frame by clicking the << button. After this, click Submit. Remember the accounts you have deleted the roles.
      d Create new users for accounts you have just cleared the roles. Click All Users on the Security Manager submenu. As the list of all users appears, click the New User. Enter a new user properties, click Next. Grant a new user the role in one of the accounts you have just detached roles. Do so for all accounts a the user have had roles.
      e As a result, a user will get new logins/passwords to log in to his/her accounts.
      f Notify customer about these changes.
    • If a customer would prefer to move to a single accounts. Similarly to the prevoius solution, delete user roles in all accounts except for the one (steps a -b -c). Move a customer subscriptions to the remaining user account using the Move subscriptions between accounts option. Delete the redundant accounts. As a result, a customer will keep using his/her old login/password to manage all subscriptions. Notify a customer about these changes.

b91f0e51a581aafeed4e0834068081e0 400e18f6ede9f8be5575a475d2d6b0a6 95c731ef6bb58e30865e046f2135d4c1 caea8340e2d186a540518d08602aa065

Email subscription for changes to this article
Save as PDF